You have reached the SIGCHI web archive. Switch to the new website view or email us if you have a question or feedback. We thank you for your patience while we complete our transition to the new site.

IUI 2008 Details

IUI 2008 was held from January 13–16 in Canary Islands, Spain.

Table of Contents


General Chair

Steffen Staab, Universitat Koblenz-Landau, Germany

Program Chairs

Jeffrey Bradshaw, Institute of Human and Machine

Cognition, USA

Henry Lieberman, Media Lab, Massachusetts

Institute of Technology, USA

Tutorial & Workshop Chairs

Daniela Petrelli, University of Sheffield, UK

Cecile Paris, CSIRO ICT Centre, Sydney, Australia

Demo Chair

Siegfried Handschuh, Digital Enterprise Research

Institute (DERI), National University of Ireland,

Galway, Ireland

Local Organization Chair

      José Antonio Macías Iglesias

Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Publicity Chair

Pearl Pu, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Registration Office

Ruth Goetten, Universität Koblenz-Landau, Germany

Steering Committee

Angel Puerta, Chair, RedWhale Software, USA

W. Lewis Johnson, USC/ISI, USA

Mark Maybury, MITRE, USA

Doug Riecken, IBM Watson Research Center, USA

Candace Sidner, BAE Systems, AIT, USA

Robert St. Amant, North Carolina State University, USA

Program Committee

Junia Anacleto, Federal University of Sao Carlos, Brazil

Elisabeth Andre, Augsburg University, Germany

Liliana Ardissono, University of Torino, Italy

Larry Bergman, IBM, USA

Larry Birnbaum, Northwestern University, USA

Marc Cavazza, University of Teeside, UK


Cristina Conati, University of British Columbia, Canada

Achim Ebert, DFKI, Germany

Ernest Edmonds, University of Technology, Australia

Alois Ferscha, University of Linz, Austria

Krzysztof Gajos, University of Washington, USA

Yolanda Gil, USC; ISI, USA

Jennifer Golbeck, University of Maryland, USA

Dina Goren-Bar, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Catherine Havasi, Brandeis University, USA

Joaquim Jorge, Technical University of Lisboa, Portugal

Henry Kautz, University of Rochester/Kodak, USA

Jihie Kim, USC-ISI, USA

Antonio Krüger, University of Muenster, Germany

Tessa Lau, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA

David Leake, Indiana University, USA

José Macias, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain

Cindy Mason, Stanford University, USA

Jeffrey Nichols, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Nuno Nunes, Universidade da Madeira, Portugal

Ana Paiva, INESC-ID IST, Portugal

Angel Puerta, RedWhale Software, USA

Charles Rich, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Doug Riecken, IBM Watson Research Center, USA

John Riedl, University of Minnesota, USA

Ted Selker, MIT, USA

Candace Sidner, Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs, USA

Maarten Sierhuis, NASA, USA

Barry Smyth, University College Dublin, Ireland

Robert St. Amant, North Carolina State University, USA

Yoichi Takebayashi, Shizuoka University, Japan

Jianhua Tao, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Dan Weld, University of Washington, USA

Demo Selection Committee

Alia Amin, CWI, Netherlands

Abraham Bernstein, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Andreas Butz, LMU, University of Munich, Germany

Martin Dzbor, Knowledge Media Institute, UK

Michiel Hildebrand, CWI, Netherlands

Anthony Jameson, DFKI, Germany

Jihie Kim, Information Science Institute, USA

Knud Moeller, DERI Galway, Ireland

Candy Sidner, BAE Systems, USA

Harald Reiterer, University of Konstanz, Germany

Denny Vrandecic, AIFB, University of Karlsruhe, Germay

IUI 2008 Attendance

Select a region for detail.
Attendance category descriptions

IUI 2008 Income

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

IUI 2008 Expenses

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

Managed by Conferences