You have reached the SIGCHI web archive. Switch to the new website view or email us if you have a question or feedback. We thank you for your patience while we complete our transition to the new site.

TIS 2008

TIS 2008 was held from October 1–3 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Table of Contents


General Chairs

Sriram Subramanian, University of Bristol, UK

Shahram Izadi, Microsoft Research, UK

Papers Chairs

Ali Mazalek, Georgia Tech., USA

Yvonne Rogers, Open University, UK

Posters and Demos Chair

Dima Aliakseyeu, Philips Research, NL

Andy Wilson, Microsoft Research, USA

Mark Hancock, University of Calgary, CA


Clifton Forlines, MERL & University of Toronto

Publication and DVD Production

Daniel Wigdor, Microsoft Surface

Massimo Zancanaro, Bruno Kessler Foundation (formerly ITC)


Andrés Lucero, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL

Publicity Chair


Sergi Jorda, University of Barcelona & Reactable

Nicolas Villar, Lancaster University & Microsoft Research, UK

Asia Pacific

Yoshifumi Kitamura, Osaka University, Japan

Ji-Hyung Park, Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

North America

Meredith Ringel Morris, Microsoft Research, USA

Registration and Local Arrangements Chair

Eduardo Dias, Geodan Systems & Research, NL

Sponsorship Chair

Andreas Kunz, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Tom Rodden, University of Nottingham, UK

Student Volunteers Chair

Otmar Hillges, University of Munich, Germany

David Smith, Queen’s University, Canada

Program Committee

Alissa Antle, Simon Fraser University

Francois Berard, University of Grenoble

Patrick Baudisch, Microsoft Research

Win Burleson, Arizone State University

Alex Butler, Microsoft Research

Carla Diana, Georgia Tech

Ellen Do, Georgia Tech

Morten Fjeld, Chalmers University of Technology

Kentaro Fukuchi, University of Electro-Communications

Mark Gross, Carnegie Mellon University

Tovi Grossman, University of Toronto

Mark Hancock, University of Calgary

Bjoern Hartmann, Stanford University

Elise van den Hoven, Eindhoven University of Technology

Eva Hornecker, The Open University

Tobias Isenberg, University of Groningen

Yuichi Itoh, Osaka University

Sergi Jorda, Pompeu Fabra University of Barcelona

Karrie Karahalios, University of Illinois

Hideki Koike, University of Electro-Communications

Andreas Kunz, Blekinge Technical University

Youn Kyung Lim, KAIST

Carsten Magerkurth, SAP Research CEC St. Gallen

Meredith Morris, Microsoft Research

Cecily Morrison, University of Cambridge

Miguel Nacenta, University of Saskatchewan

Kenton O’Hara, HiX Sydney

Patrick Olivier, Newcastle University

Nuno Otero, University of Minho

Aaron Quigley, University College Dublin

Matthew Reynolds, Duke University

Antti Salovaara, Helsinki Institute for Information Technology

Yoichi Sato, University of Tokyo

Stacey Scott, University of Waterloo

Ehud Sharlin, University of Calgary

Lucia Terrenghi, Vodafone Group R&D

Peter Vandoren, Hasselt University

Frederic Vernier, South-Paris University

Daniel Wigdor, Microsoft Surface

Claudia Winegarden, Georgia Tech

ISS 2008 Attendance

Select a region for detail.
Attendance category descriptions

ISS 2008 Income

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

ISS 2008 Expenses

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

Managed by Conferences