You have reached the SIGCHI web archive. Switch to the new website view or email us if you have a question or feedback. We thank you for your patience while we complete our transition to the new site.

CSCW 2011

CSCW 2011 was held from March 19–23 in Hangzhou, China.

Table of Contents


Conference Co-chairs

Pamela Hinds, Stanford University

John C. Tang, Microsoft Research

Jian Wang, Alibaba Group

Papers & Notes Co-chairs

Jakob Bardram, IT University of Copenhagen

Nicolas Ducheneaut, Palo Alto Research Center


Stephen Hayne, Colorado State University

Showcase Papers Co-chairs

Geraldine Fitzpatrick, Vienna University of Technology

Gary Olson, University of California, Irvine

Interactive Papers Co-chairs

Hideaki Kuzuoka, University of Tsukuba

P. L. Patrick Rau, Tsinghua University

Workshops Co-chairs

Scott Mainwaring, Intel Labs

Chen Zhao, Microsoft Research Asia

Panels Co-chairs

Susan Fussell, Cornell University

Zhengjie Liu, Dalian Maritime University

Videos Co-chairs

Dan Cosley, Cornell University

Karrie Karahalios, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Demonstrations Co-chairs

Björn Hartmann, University of California, Berkeley

Chengzheng Sun, Nanyang Technological University

CSCW Horizon Co-chairs

Joseph ‘Jofish’ Kaye, Nokia Research Center

Christine Satchell, University of Melbourne and Queensland University of Technology

Tutorials Co-chairs

Jeff Hancock, Cornell University

Bilge Mutlu, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Doctoral Colloquium Co-chairs

Gloria Mark, University of California, Irvine

Loren Terveen, University of Minnesota

Madness Co-chairs

Melissa Mazmanian, University of California, Irvine

Ravi Vatrapu, Copenhagen Business School

Student Volunteers Co-chairs

Joachim Lyon, Stanford University

Patrick Shih, University of California, Irvine

Lin Wang, Tsinghua University

China Academic Exchange Chair

Bin Hu, Lanzhou University

Awards Chair

Christine Halverson, IBM Research

Publicity Co-chairs

Laura Dabbish, Carnegie Mellon University

Fu Xiaolan, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Publications Chair

Helena Mentis, Microsoft Research Cambridge

Proceedings Chair

Vanessa Evers, University of Amsterdam

Sponsorship Co-chairs

Jeremy Birnholtz, Cornell University

Carl Gutwin, University of Saskatchewan

Volker Wulf, University of Siegen

Carol Zhao, Zhejiang University Innovation Institute, International

Local Arrangements Co-chairs

Lydia Lin, Zhejiang University Innovation Institute, International

Clarissa Yang, Zhejiang University Innovation Institute, International

Webmaster & Graphic Design Chair

Kurt Luther, Georgia Institute of Technology

Audio-Visual & Computing Co-chairs

Patrick Wagstrom, IBM

Frank Zou, InfowareLab

Associate Chairs

Paul Aoki, Intel Research

Daniel Avrahami, Intel Research

Michel Beaudouin-Lafon, University of Paris

Jeanette Blomberg, IBM Research

Barry Brown, University of California, San Diego

A.J. Brush, Microsoft Research

Scott Counts, Microsoft Research

Monica Divitini, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Paul Dourish, University of California, Irvine

Darren Gergle, Northwestern University

Christine Halverson, IBM Research

Kori Inkpen, Microsoft Research

Jofish Kaye, Nokia

Wendy Kellogg, IBM Research

Sara Kiesler, Carnegie Mellon University

Niki Kittur, Carnegie Mellon University

Bob Kraut, Carnegie Mellon University

Hideaki Kuzuoka, University of Tsukuba

Cliff Lampe, Michigan State University

Alison Lee, Nokia Research

Paul Luff, King’s College London

Wendy Mackay, INRIA

Regan Mandryk, University of Saskatchewan

Gloria Mark, University of California, Irvine

Joe McCarthy, Interrelativity

David Millen, IBM Research

Michael Muller, IBM Research

Mor Naaman, Rutgers University

Volkmar Pipek, University of Kaiserslautern

Wolfgang Prinz, Franhofer FIT

Madhu Reddy, The Pennsylvania State University

Chengzheng Sun, Nanyang Technical University

Aurelien Tabard, IT University of Copenhagen

Hilda Tellioglu, Vienna University of Technology

Loren Terveen, University of Minnesota

Jennifer Thom-Santelli, Cornell University

Gina Venolia, Microsoft Research

Amy Voida, University of California, Irvine

Steve Voida, University of California, Irvine

Steve Whittaker, IBM Research

Allison Woodruff, Intel Research

CSCW 2011 Attendance

Select a region for detail.
Attendance category descriptions

CSCW 2011 Income

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

CSCW 2011 Expenses

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

Survey Data

Survey data from conference attendees is available for PDF Download.

Managed by Conferences