You have reached the SIGCHI web archive. Switch to the new website view or email us if you have a question or feedback. We thank you for your patience while we complete our transition to the new site.

CSCW 1996

CSCW 1996 was held from November 16-20 in Boston, MA.

Table of Contents


Conference Co-Chairs

Kate Ehrlich, Lotus Development Corp

Chris Schmandt, MIT Media Lab


Steven Poltrock, Boeing

Doctoral Colloquium

Barbara Diekmann, University of Colorado

JoAnne Yates, MIT Center for Coordination Science


Jonathan Grudin, UC Irvine


Gary Olson, University of Michigan

Judy Olson, University of Michigan


Amy Pearl, Sun Microsystems

Lee Sproull, Boston University


John Tang, SunSoft


Simon Kaplan, University of Queensland

Lisa Neal, EDS Technical Consulting Program

A/V & Computing

Steven Rohall, TASC

Alan Wexelblat, MIT Media Lab

Conference Advisor

Hiroshi Ishii, MIT Media Lab

Electronic Publishing

Scott Mainwaring, Interval Research

Local Arrangements

Debby Hindus, Interval Research


Mark Ackerman, UC Irvine


Debra Cash, New Century Enterprises


Steve Anderson, Lawrence Livermore National Labs

Student Volunteers

Rodney Fuller, Bellcore

Eileen Kupstas, University of North Carolina


John Storck, Boston University

ACM Liaison

Diane Darrow, ACM

Asia Liaison

Ken-ichi Okada, Keio University

Europe Liaison

Liam Bannon, University of Limerick

Industry Liaisons

Robert Halperin, MIT Center for Coordination Science

Cathy Wolf, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

SIGCHI Liaison

Gene Lynch, Design Technologies

SIGOIS Liaison

Dirk E. Mahling, University of Pittsburgh

Conference Management

Jim Morgan, Conference & Logistics Consultants, Inc.

Conference Administrator

Borysa Struk, Conference & Logistics Consultants, Inc.


Carole Mann, Registration Systems Laboratory

Publications and Graphic Design

Jeff Seideman, ImageTech Communications, Inc.

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Gary and Judy Olson, University of Michigan

Program Committee Associate Chairs

Tora K. Bikson, RAND Corporation

Sara Bly, Sara Bly Consulting

Saul Greenberg, University of Calgary

Wendy Mackay, University of Paris

Christine M. Neuwirth, Carnegie Mellon University

John F. Patterson, Lotus Development Corporation

John C. Tang, SunSoft, Inc.

Program Committee Members

Mark J. Abel, Intel Corp.

Mark S. Ackerman, University of California, Irvine

Anne Andersen, Glasgow University

Liam J. Bannon, University of Limerick, Ireland

Nicholas Benimoff, AT&T Bell Laboratories

Jeanette L. Blomberg, Xerox Palo Alto Research Center

Susanne Bodker, Aarhus University

John M. Bowers, University of Manchester

Kevin Crowston, University of Michigan

Bill Curtis, TeraQuest Metrics, Inc.

Giorgio De Michelis, University of Milano

Gerardine L. DeSanctis, Duke University

Prasun Dewan, University of North Carolina

Edmund H. Durfee, University of Michigan

Kate Ehrlich, Lotus Development Corporation

Clarence (Skip) Ellis, University of Colorado

Thomas A. Finholt, University of Michigan

Xiaolan Fu, Institute of Psychology, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Jolene Galegher, Carnegie Mellon University

William Gaver, Royal College of Art

Louis Gomez, Northwestern University

Irene Greif, Lotus Development Corporation

Jonathan Grudin, University of California, Irvine

Ellen Isaacs, SunSoft, Inc.

Hiroshi Ishii, MIT Media Lab

Sara Kiesler, Carnegie Mellon University

John L. King, University of California, Irvine

Eiji Kuwana, NTT Software Laboratories

Marilyn Mantei, University of Toronto

M. Lynne Markus, Claremont Graduate School

Naomi Miyake, Chukyo University

Thomas P. Moran, Xerox Palo Alto Research Center

Robert Neches, DARPA

Janni Nielsen, Copenhagen Business School

Joseph Pasquale, University of California, San Diego

Steven Poltrock, Boeing Information & Support Services

Atul Prakash, University of Michigan

Stephen Reder, Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory

Paul Resnick, AT&T Bell Labs

John Riedl, University of Minnesota

Tom Rodden, Lancaster University

Carrie Rudman, U S WEST Advanced Technologies

Chris Schmandt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Lee Sproull, Boston University

Lucy Suchman, Xerox Palo Alto Research Center

Terry Winograd, Stanford University

Nicole Yankelovich, Sun Microsystems Laboratories

Ilze Zigurs, University of Colorado

CSCW 1996 Attendance

Select a region for detail.
Attendance category descriptions

CSCW 1996 Income

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

CSCW 1996 Expenses

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

Managed by Conferences