You have reached the SIGCHI web archive. Switch to the new website view or email us if you have a question or feedback. We thank you for your patience while we complete our transition to the new site.

CHI 2008 Details

CHI 2008 was held from May 5-10 in Florence, Italy.

Table of Contents


Conference Chairs

Mary Czerwinski, Microsoft Research

Arnie Lund, Microsoft

Conference Chair Assistant

Jon Froehlich, University of Washington

Technical Program Chair

Desney Tan, Microsoft Research

Technical Program Chair Assistant

T. Scott Saponas, University of Washington

VP for Conferences

Gerrit van der Veer, Vrije Universiteit

ACM Liaison

Brooke Hardy, ACM

Papers Chairs

Margaret Burnett, Oregon State University

Maria Francesca Costabile, University of Bari

Notes Chairs

Tiziana Catarci, University of Rome “La Sapienza”

Boris de Ruyter, Philips Research

Workshops Chairs

Philippe Palanque, IRIT

Carmen Santoro, ISTI-CNR, Pisa

Courses Chairs

Luca Chittaro, University of Udine

Steven Poltrock, The Boeing Company

Interactivity Chairs

Steve Brewster, University of Glasgow

Matt Jones, Swansea University

Work-in-Progress Chairs

Kris Luyten, Hasselt University

Manuel Perez-Quinones, Virginia Tech

Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Joseph Konstan, University of Minnesota

Alistair Sutcliffe, University of Manchester

Student Design Competition Chairs

Jon Kolko, frog design

Ilona Posner, Usability Consultant

Special Interest Groups Chairs

Richard Anderson, Riander

Effie Law, ETH Zurich

alt.chi Chairs

Louise Barkhuus, University of Glasgow

Joseph “Jofish” Kaye, Cornell University

Student Research Competition Chairs

Kori Inkpen, Microsoft Research

Luciano Gamberini, University of Padova

Research Landscapes Chairs

Piero Mussio, University of Milano

Khai N. Truong, University of Toronto

Education Chairs

Alan Dix, Lancaster University

Stefano Levialdi, University of Rome “La Sapienza”

Design Chairs

Jonathan Arnowitz, Google Inc

Elizabeth Dykstra-Erickson, ACCESS Systems Americas

Sebastiano Bagnara, University degli Studi di Siena

Usability Chairs

John Karat, IBM Research

Manfred Tscheligi, University of Salzburg

Engineering Chairs

Alberto del Bimbo, University of Florence

Fabio Paterno, ISTI-CNR, Pisa

Management Chairs

Ping Zhang, Syracuse University

Roberto Polillo, University of Milano Bicocca

Student Volunteer Chairs

Kirstie Hawkey, University of British Columbia

Nicolai Marquardt, Bauhaus University Weimar

CHI Madness Chairs

Gonzalo Ramos, Microsoft LiveLabs

Jeffrey Nichols, IBM Research

Communications Chairs

Helena Mentis, Pennsylvania State University

Jon Kolko, frog design

Sponsors & Exhibits Coordinator

Carol Klyver

ePublications Chairs

T. Scott Saponas, University of Washington

Joshua Gross, Pennsylvania State University

Print Publications Chairs

Bongshin Lee, Microsoft Research

Kathy Seyama, Qualcomm Inc.

Julie Kientz, Georgia Tech

Design Director

Oscar Murillo, Microsoft

Technology Liaison

John “Scooter” Morris, University of California, San Francisco

Logistics Coordinators

Paul Henning, CLC

Janee Pelletier, CLC

Local Arrangements Chair

Sebastiano Bagnara, University degli Studi di Siena

CHI 2008 Attendance

Select a region for detail.
Attendance category descriptions

CHI 2008 Income

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

CHI 2008 Expenses

Select a region for detail.
Finance category descriptions

Survey Data

Survey data from conference attendees is available for PDF download.

Managed by Conferences